So You Think You Can Dance

So You Think You Can Dance
Source: Fox

The reality TV competition series So You Think You Can Dance was created by American Idol producer Simon Fuller and Nigel Lythgoe. Although the first season of SYTYCD was hosted by Lauren Sánchez, Cat Deeley took over during Season 2 and has hosted ever since. The Fox show premiered in 2005, and it's currently airing its 17th season.

Each season begins with an audition phase held in a number of major U.S. cities. Contestants advance through additional rounds of auditions, which test their skills in different styles of dance, until a small number are chosen as finalists. From here, dancers enter into the show's main phase consisting of solo, duet, and group dance performances on live TV. Dancers are eliminated each episode based on votes from viewers at home and the input of judges — until a winner is announced.

Network: Fox

Premiere date: July 20, 2005

Who are the judges on So You Think You Can Dance?

Each season of So You Think You Can Dance consists of two to four permanent judges, as well as periodic guest judges. Some of these permanent judges through the years have included:

The judges for SYTYCD Season 17 are: Stephen "tWitch" Boss, JoJo Siwa, and Leah Remini, who replaced Matthew Morrison after two months.

So You Think You Can Dance winners:

Here is a breakdown of SYTYCD winners so far:

  • Season 1 — Nick Lazzarini
  • Season 2 — Benji Schwimmer
  • Season 3 — Sabra Johnson
  • Season 4 — Joshua Allen
  • Season 5 — Jeanine Mason
  • Season 6 — Russell Ferguson
  • Season 7 — Lauren Froderman
  • Season 8 — Melanie Moore
  • Season 9 — Female Winner: Eliana Girard; Male Winner: Chehon Wespi-Tschopp
  • Season 10 — Female Winner: Amy Yakima; Male Winner: Du-Shaunt "Fik-Shun" Stegall
  • Season 11 — Ricky Ubeda
  • Season 12 — Gaby Diaz
  • Season 13 — Leon "Kida" Burns
  • Season 14 — Lex Ishimoto
  • Season 15 — Hannahlei Cabanilla
  • Season 16 — Bailey Muñoz
  • Season 17 — TBD

What's the prize for Season 17 of So You Think You Can Dance?

The prize for Season 17 of SYTYCD is $100,000, along with the title of "America's Favorite Dancer."

Latest So You Think You Can Dance News and Updates

© Copyright 2024 DreamDive. DreamDive is a registered trademark. All Rights Reserved. People may receive compensation for some links to products and services on this website. Offers may be subject to change without notice.